A Tale of Two Sweeties

Nora 004

“To go into solitude, a man needs to retire as much from his chamber as from society. I am not solitary whilst I read and write, though nobody is with me. But if a man would be alone, let him look at the stars.”  ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Wake up and go to sleep. Early nap. Whatever. I had a bit of star watching, some good coffee, and for some reason I had to sleep then for a while longer. It wasn’t hard to accomplish.  It’s bitter cold again. My exhaustion is no more a problem that it is a benefit. That statement is not Zen so don’t even go there. I’m in a rare state of mind these days. I think it is because my the 31st anniversary of my NDE and nearly fatal bicycle accident is approaching, not even two weeks away. Someone once told me that I should not assign such significance to the events. Their sage advice did not sway me. It’s just that something so impactful remains impactful. At least it does for me. There’s no harm that I can see.

The fine feline in today’s opening photo is Nora. She is the longest standing resident of our cattery, here at Stray Hearts animal shelter en qui en Taos. Nora’s a sweetie who is a bit on the skittish side. Come take a gander at this beauty, and she is a beauty, a predominantly black tortoiseshell. She needs to go to a good home as an indoor cat. Coyotes don’tcha know. Let them eat rabbits.

One more thing before I go. Taylor Swift, I re-extend my invitation to you to come visit the shelter. I’ll give you the tour, then we can do lunch. Burger and a beer. Hows ’bout it sweetie. It would be fun. Give it some thought, k? You’d make an old man proud. Dang it. Only old compared to you. This is getting awkward. I ain’t old. Never mind. Come on down.

Peace out, y’all. Goof gloriously

 

Leave a Reply

