Entropy and Rattled Brains

IMG_4566.jpg

“At the heart of science is an essential balance between two seemingly contradictory attitudes–an openness to new ideas, no matter how bizarre or counterintuitive they may be, and the most ruthless skeptical scrutiny of all ideas, old and new. This is how deep truths are winnowed from deep nonsense.” ~ Carl Sagan

“When I was growing up I always wanted to be someone. Now I realize I should have been more specific.” ~ Lily Tomlin

Twilight time. Quiet. No traffic noise. No barking dogs. No chirping skunks. Coyotes? Nope. They did break out in song at sunset yesterday. It could have been a song to the Sun but more likely it meant that a hare or two were fixin to go down. This dawn feels odd. I suppose it could be an influence from the appalling activity in the nation’s capitol. That most definitely has an effect. I encounter edgy people as I serve the public in my job. I do wonder how much current politics contributes to this edge. Yesterday was such a day, but most days aren’t. There’s no answer as to the veracity of my suspicions. But it is still my guess that the incompetence and nefarious doings have a trickle down effect on citizens. I for one am tired of being shocked so I have trained myself to keep an eye on the eventual full application of justice. I cheer investigators as word of their doings comes out. The time for a full court press approaches. Yeh, I just used a sports term. Honestly I had to look it up to see if it really meant what I thought it meant. It did, does, whatever. As sports go I do not care for basketball. I used to love watching a good football game but since all the news about CTE research I’ve lost interest, because I now realize that them fellas out there on the field are breaching design function: the human brain is just not designed for such brutal treatment. Such treatment tends to trigger entropy if taken too far. This issue really hits home with me. My head has been banged severely several times. One time was so severe that it nearly killed me, or it did kill me, from a metaphysical perspective. That was a trip! From that perspective I died, crossed over to somewhere strange, flew through a tunnel, then into the Light, where I was met by a Celtic goddess who, in so many words, told me to calm the fuck down dude. Hey, I wonder if I am the only one to have succeeded in carrying anxiety into heaven, or wherever that was. So now you new readers know something about me that I rarely discuss in this blog. There is a stigma against telling such stories, and I kinda sorta get that. I shake my head at the non-believing scientists, and I put forth a hearty huzzah to those scientists who endeavor to learn the truth about a very strange phenomenon. Just in recorded history alone, tens of millions of people have reported having NDEs. Just sayin. But for now, moving forward and all that fun stuff, I must get to the groom and zoom portion of prepping to go into Taos to work. I say zoom because I also managed to bring my anxiety back home from heaven. Weird, just weird. It is going to be a sweet day. Something wondrous is happening. If you think I am dismissing the politics of the day, just remember that there is also balance it the world. Balance is an innate quality and characteristic of Nature. When a system gets too far out of balance empirical reality begins to heave and ho, to huff and puff and blow some house or other down. You may think, as I do, that virulent entropy has gripped our nation, but also remember that entropy is the measure of the lack of information about the true nature of a system. Let that soak in, k?

Peace out, y’all. Goof gloriously.

Leave a Reply

