The Dime and the Light

IMG_0113.jpg

Today I don’t need a replacement
I’ll tell them what the smile on my face meant
My heart going boom boom boom  ~  Peter Gabriel, Solsbury Hill

It’s been a chore to get my mind engaged this morning; which is not a bad thing. But dawn is here, fading night sky and all, and I pretty much have to pull off the task now. One thing haunts me these past few days, so I guess thats a starting point for this short post. I was counting out my cash drawer at work the other day when something caught my eye. I was counting dimes when I noticed that one of the coins did not look like a dime. I picked it up only to realize that it was in fact a silver dime, from 1944. In pretty good condition as well. That’s 73 years. I ended up giving the dime to my manager on duty, who was delighted to have it to share with his teenaged son. I love doing things that make people light up, especially when it is spontaneous. I reckon that is one of the essential things about life and what to do with it: bring more light into the world. That’s where I am today. Not feeling well but the faint feeling of illness also feels quite temporary. Bright red eyes earlier. Gut ache. Nothing that should hamper the good day to come. Retail work is friggin hard. Especially for an introvert such as myself. That, I find, is best addressed with good humor, even if it is dark humor. And making people smile. Especially the pretty women. One of the treasures of my life is eye connection when a pretty woman is smiling. Such a connection brings more light into the world. I think I will leave it at that. A good day it shall be.

Peace out, y’all. Goof gloriously.

Leave a Reply

