Destiny, Spirit, and Choice

IMG_0388.jpg

“So we shall let the reader answer this question for himself: who is the happier man, he who has braved the storm of life and lived or he who has stayed securely on shore and merely existed?”  ~  Hunter S. Thompson

“I felt my lungs inflate with the onrush of scenery—air, mountains, trees, people. I thought, “This is what it is to be happy.” ~  Sylvia Plath

Today is my best friend’s birthday. I have not seen her in over ten years. We don’t talk on the phone. Facebook is the one way we keep in contact. Wellllll . . . not the one way. Spirit is way bigger than Facebook. Facebook should only be use as a conduit. She is the most magickal person I know – she who literally attracted lightning as a young woman. The lightning must have craved good company. And the laughter! Those crazy meetings, casual gatherings, with Doctor Tune, smoking weed and plying our intelligence with irreverent laughter and shared love. Those carefree island days are here with me as I write, tattooed on my soul. You don’t know how lucky I am. I wish you did. You will just have to take my word for it. I could go on here, but I don’t want to make myself cry again. I already did it once, when her reply to my birthday greeting came to me through Facebook Messenger. A conduit only, k?! Don’t make me come over there. But there is another one as well. I fell in love with her one night as we sat at the open air oceanfront bar on the banks of the ocean along Whale Harbor Channel in Islamorada, Florida. It was a tritely balmy night with the Full Moon sitting out there over the ocean’s horizon. She was blazing with passion that night. I saw it then bathed in it. It was good. Today is her birthday too. We still speak over the phone on occasion. The last such occasion happened about a year ago. The next one shall happen soon. Hey, a hug would be nice. Maybe someday? Yeh. Maybe. Her fierce Irish blood . . . mmmm . . . I’d better stop here. I am not talking about a love life here, just about love. Like unconditional stuff. If you catch a whiff of unconditional love, follow that aroma. You won’t be sorry. Listen, I have over ten woman who are the loves of my life. The one true love of legend went and died on me back in 1995. Poor me, right? Soooo . . . is there anyone right now? I stand out in the fields of infatuation. Yeh, there is one out in that field, out in the golden fields of grain. I don’t know if I am talking fantasy or dream. There is a difference. Dreams can come true, fantasies cannot. I am choosing dreams. There is always a choice, and Spirit helps if you make a choice. Destiny only occurs when you make it yourself. Says me. Choose destiny.

Peace out, y’all. Goof gloriously

 

Leave a Reply

