Blessed Rain and Good Cartoons

“How it is that animals understand things I do not know, but it is certain that they do understand. Perhaps there is a language which is not made of words and everything in the world understands it. Perhaps there is a soul hidden in everything and it can always speak, without even making a sound, to another soul.” ~ Frances Hodgson Burnett

“He wanted to cry quietly but not for himself: for the words, so beautiful and sad, like music.” ~ James Joyce

Let’s not forget that writing is convenient. It requires the simplest tools. A young writer sees that with words and sentences on a piece of paper that costs less than a penny he can place himself more clearly in the world. Words on a page, that’s all it takes to help him separate himself from the forces around him, streets and people and pressures and feelings. He learns to think about these things, to ride his own sentences into new perceptions.” ~ Don DeLillo

Blessed rain overnight. I heard a shower a short while ago, and though I was uncertain that the sound was actually rain, I allowed myself to believe that it was – and of course it was. We desert dwellers usually love to see rain come. It was unexpected and that makes me smile. It’s been a long and restful two days off. Talking on the phone with my psychologist yesterday morning was a true pleasure, and helpful – and compelling. The guy is quirky, and smarter than the average bear. He basically grilled me on what I did to cope with my past two months of deep stress. He laughs at the oddest times. I love it. But once again I have let myself wander in the borderlands of internet immersion and infusion. Best go shake off this cartoonish stuff and get ready for work. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love good cartoons. Good ones.

All is well. Goof gloriously.

Leave a comment