Chop Wood, Carry Water, Curb Entropy

“I felt very still and empty, the way the eye of a tornado must feel, moving dully along in the middle of the surrounding hullabaloo.” ~ Sylvia Plath

“I would like to see anyone, prophet, king or God, convince a thousand cats to do the same thing at the same time.” ~ Neil Gaiman

“Let’s just say that if complete and utter chaos were lightning, then he’d be the sort to stand on a hilltop in a thunderstorm wearing wet copper armor and shouting ‘All Gods are bastards.” ~ Terry Pratchett


At dawn, timid pastels embellish the basic gray of Winter’s clouds. Groovy, right? Yeh, buddy. I feel perky this morning only because I have to go do laundry in a bit. It’s a practical thing, and if I can muster a ‘chop wood, carry water’ state of mind, I will. Stranger things have happened. Honestly, my perspective these days is a mishmash of political news and the Addams Family. At times it seems they are not all that different. This I can live with. As I’ve said before – repeated ad nauseum, perhaps – I’m not much of a positive thinker. Sometimes you just have to lay back and learn to enjoy Chaos; or at least friggin come to terms with it. One thing I am willing to come to terms with is that aches and pains and existential dread are not denizens of Chaos; nor are they entropy. Says me. A rationalization on my part, perhaps, but one I will defend against . . . oh, never mind. Pop-psych is not on my menu today, nor is it on my radar. It just kinda sorta spews out once in a while. Just like philosophy. Say, can you get a Master’s degree in Pop-Psychology? If so, how long will it last before your studies run up against a brick wall? I like Tom Robbins’ idea that if you paint yourself into a corner, put suction cups on your hands and feet, then walk up the wall and across the ceiling.


“Not only do living things lessen the disorder in their environments; they are in themselves, their skeletons and their flesh, vesicles and membranes, shells and carapaces, leaves and blossoms, circulatory systems and metabolic pathways – miracles of pattern and structure. It sometimes seems as if curbing entropy is our quixotic purpose in the universe.” ~ James Gleick


Peace out, y’all. Goof gloriously.

Leave a comment