I Am Curly

“Censorship is telling a man he can’t have a steak just because a baby can’t chew it.” ~ Mark Twain

“Look, I get it. Loose stools are grosser than solid ones. But the censor is using the context of her own life history with all her hang-ups to answer the question, “Is there a defensible ratio of fiber to water in this stool?” ~ Sarah Silverman

“When the Washington Post telephoned me at home on Valentine’s Day 1989 to ask my opinion about the Ayatollah Khomeini’s fatwah, I felt at once that here was something that completely committed me. It was, if I can phrase it like this, a matter of everything I hated versus everything I loved. In the hate column: dictatorship, religion, stupidity, demagogy, censorship, bullying, and intimidation. In the love column: literature, irony, humor, the individual, and the defense of free expression. Plus, of course, friendship—though I like to think that my reaction would have been the same if I hadn’t known Salman at all. To re-state the premise of the argument again: the theocratic head of a foreign despotism offers money in his own name in order to suborn the murder of a civilian citizen of another country, for the offense of writing a work of fiction. No more root-and-branch challenge to the values of the Enlightenment (on the bicentennial of the fall of the Bastille) or to the First Amendment to the Constitution, could be imagined. President George H.W. Bush, when asked to comment, could only say grudgingly that, as far as he could see, no American interests were involved…” ~ Christopher Hitchens


Gotta start sometime? Right? Right, yer bloody well right. That’s me having caught myself avoiding writing a blog post by finding all sorts of things that look interesting on the web. The previous sentence is carefully worded, says the obscure lexicon pretender. This morning it is effectively about 0º outside, and I have to go to work. Scraping the car windows oughtta be fun. Sheesh. Do they even say “sheesh” anymore? I don’t know iffin I ever mentioned here that I abhor GIFs. The repetition gets to me near as much as Republican talking points do. Reading the news feels like watching a GIF of the Three Stooges, where Moe is beating the crap out of Curley – again and again and again – and I am Curley. No wonder my blood pressure is running high. Yeh, my PA upped my “baby dose” of meds to a toddler dose. And I get a free self-standing pressure cuff to keep track of the issue. And I get to visit with the woman who will monitor my progress. Simply talking to her on the phone was a delight. She sounds East Indian and as charming as you please. BTW, my new PA runs the clinic down in Embudo, which is down in the gorge on the way to Santa Fe. I hadn’t been down there in years before that visit last week. The grandeur on the scenery down there never gets old. No, wait. don’t get me started on the true nature of time. I don’t have the time for that, right new. I gotta get moving, to go sell hardware to the masses. See ya.

Peace out, y’all. Goof gloriously.

Leave a comment